18 May

Updated list of banned airlines in the EU - May 2017

The European Commission has updated the EU Air Safety List, the list of airlines that do not meet international safety standards, and are therefore subject to an operating ban or operational restrictions within the European Union.

In the latest update, all air carriers from Benin and Mozambique were removed from the EU Air Safety List, while four individual airlines, one each from Nigeria, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Ukraine, and Zimbabwe, were added.

Members are reminded that a clause was added to our Code of Conduct in April 2015 about this as follows:

2R: ABTA Members shall, before they sell Travel Arrangements to a Client that includes a flight on an airline that is on the European Commission's list of airlines banned in the EU, inform the Client that the airline is on that list.