24 Nov

Registered Traveller Service update

The Border Force Registered Traveller is a membership service that offers faster and more convenient entry at passport control for frequent travellers to the UK.

From Monday, 21 November, frequent travellers to the UK from 16 new countries became eligible to apply for membership of the scheme. Membership is now open to passengers from Argentina, Belize, Brazil, Brunei, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Israel, Malaysia, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay and Uruguay.

The scheme currently has more than 67,000 members and is open to nationals from Australia, Canada, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea, Taiwan and the United States.

Nationals aged over 18 or over holding a valid visa or being a regular visitor to the UK can get faster entry through major UK airports and Eurostar terminals and the choice of using the:

  • e-Passport gates (if they have a biometric/chipped passport)
  • UK/EU lanes
  • Registered Traveller lanes (Gatwick only).

Members will no longer need to:

  • Fill in a landing card
  • Undergo an interview
  • Have fingerprints taken as a visa holder.

Applications to become a Registered Traveller can be made online. The cost is £70 for 12 months (subsequent years are £50) and if your application is refused you will get £50 back.

This is a valuable service for your clients from these countries who travel frequently.

For more information, go to www.gov.uk/registered-traveller.