17 Apr

Meet the Team – ABTA Resort Committees

Did you know that ABTA is involved in 52 resort committees around the globe throughout the year? The purpose of these committees, which are chaired by ABTA tour operator members, is to provide a forum to discuss a wide range of matters relating to the resort, and where appropriate, use a collective approach to address and resolve destination challenges.

Resort Committees have been active in many overseas destinations for over twenty years. They are an effective way for ABTA members, the Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office (FCDO) and local stakeholders to collaborate on destination related topics such as health, safety and security, airport operations, operational issues, crisis management and sustainable tourism.

Donna Mehmet, ABTA’s Senior Destination Executive, recently visited the Resort Committee in Albufeira, Portugal for a pre-summer season meeting. This was attended by British Vice Consul Clive Jewell along with ABTA members, Jet2 Holidays, TUI, Saga and Solmar Villas. They were joined by a representative from the Joint Overseas Protect and Prepare (JOPP) team at the Home Office who delivered a presentation on their work in relation to security and Action Counters Terrorism (ACT) Awareness.

Donna commented on the work of the committees: “Working together as a committee on joint destination initiatives prevents duplication and makes our efforts much more efficient and effective. Members have a great opportunity to really make a difference in their resort.

“We have seen some real successes where Resort Committees have been able to overcome challenges by working in collaboration with destination authorities, accommodation, excursion and transport suppliers and other key stakeholders. A virtual option to join meetings is available, so that members without representation in a destination also have the opportunity to get involved.”

If you would like to hear more about ABTA Resort Committees and how your organisation can participate, please email destinations@abta.co.uk.

Portugal Resort Committee visit – L to R Christopher Haywood (Home Office), Dean Robinson (Solmar Villas), Donna Mehmet (ABTA), Clive Jewell (FCDO), Tina Duarte (Saga), Gary Brown (Jet2 Holidays).