19 Jul

ABTA’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) 2018

ABTA announced the reappointment of Katrina Cliffe, Kathryn Darbandi and Amanda Campbell to its Board of Directors at its AGM today, Thursday 19 July.

ABTA Members also voted to pass all seven proposed resolutions.

The first resolution confirmed that Messrs Moore Stephens have been reappointed as ABTA auditors.

The second resolution updates the Articles to reflect the change in regulation from 1 July 2018 following the introduction of the new Package Travel and Linked Travel Arrangements Regulations.

The third resolution allows ABTA to carry out increased checks on persons acting on behalf of Members such as Outside Sales Representatives, homeworkers or the owners or managers of Managed Branches.

The fourth resolution allows ABTA to require contributions towards shortfall security arrangements for all types of business conducted by Members. This reflects the different categorisations of business under the change in regulation from 1 July 2018.

The fifth resolution reflects the change in regulation from 1 July 2018, which means that Members conducting retail business might be required to hold an ATOL in respect of that business.

The sixth resolution removes the right to appeal against a termination of membership for failure to pay subscriptions.

The seventh resolution amends the requirement to hold an election arising on the retirement of an elected director where a further election for that same position might then be required within three months. By extending the period to six months, the obligation remains to keep the position filled but reduces the chances of needing to hold more than two elections in the same year.