17 Feb

ABTA Chairman collects three awards in three weeks

ABTA Chairman John McEwan was deeply honoured to receive three major awards on behalf of ABTA and its Members from the Spanish Tourist industry over the last three weeks. The awards from the Hotel Associations of Menorca, Benidorm and Costa Blanca and the Government of the Balearic Islands, were in recognition of ABTA Members’ fundamental role in developing and supporting UK tourism to Spain, both in recent and past years, as the Association celebrates its 60th anniversary in 2010.

John McEwan ABTA Chairman said: “I was touched and honoured to accept these awards on behalf of ABTA and its Members from our Spanish tourism partners, a country which has been at the heart of our Members’ business throughout ABTA’s history. We look forward to another successful and fruitful 60 years of working together”.

The awards were: the Gold Medal from HOSBEC the hotel association of Benidorm and Costa Blanca; the Annual Award for Service of Distinction to Tourism from ASHOME the hotel association of Menorca; a Special Award from the Government of the Balearic Islands presented by Tourism minister Joana Barcelo to celebrate ABTA’s 60th anniversary.