25 Feb

ABTA announces elections to Board and Council of Regions

ABTA is inviting nominations for election of two Directors who will take office at the AGM on 29 April 2010 and will serve a two year term:

• One Director from, and elected by, ABTA Principals with annual turnover of not less than £50M
• One Director from, and elected by, ABTA Retailers with annual turnover of not less than £20M

Both current Directors, Hugh Morgan of Cosmos Holidays Plc and Mike Greenacre of Cooperative Travel Group Plc may seek re-election.

Nominations are also invited for the vacancies on the Council of Regions who will serve a two-year term. Any Member may stand for election to the Council of Regions providing he or she is engaged in the travel business to a significant degree within the Region for which they are standing.

There is one vacancy in each of the following Regions: Midland, North Eastern, South Western, Greater London and North Western.  The elected Member will automatically become either the Chairman or Vice-Chairman of the Region they represent, depending on their/the Regional Committee’s wishes. The elected Member is therefore expected to play an active role in that Region.

There will be an additional vacancy this year in the Eastern Region due to the current incumbent having served four consecutive years and being required to stand down. The member elected to fill this vacancy will complete their predecessor’s term and serve until the 2011 AGM.

All nomination papers must reach the Secretariat by 17.00 hours on Wednesday 17 March 2010. In the event that there is a ballot, those persons in the appropriate turnover band or Region will be invited to vote. Ballot papers would be sent out in late March.