28 Jun

ABTA announces Board changes following Annual General Meeting

Following its Annual General Meeting held today, 28 June, at RSA House, London WC2N, ABTA announced changes to its Board of Directors for the year beginning 1 July 2017. 

Two new appointments have been made to the Board: Tina Stowell, The Rt Hon Baroness Stowell of Beeston MBE, a former Leader of the House of Lords and Stuart Leven, Vice President, Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) of Royal Caribbean. 

Following an election, Jamie Gardiner, Founder and Managing Director of Diverse World Ltd will join the Board representing Principal Members with a turnover of less than £50 million. Martin Randall of Martin Randall Travel steps down from the Board.

Following the sale of Knock Travel, Doreen McKenzie also steps down from the Board. 

Daniele Broccoli of Britaly Travel was re-elected to the Board, representing Retail Members with a turnover of less than £20 million. 

ABTA Chairman, Noel Josephides, said: “I am delighted to welcome the new Directors to the ABTA Board. Their combined industry and broader commercial and political experience will be extremely valuable to ABTA as the Association moves forward.  I would also like to congratulate Daniele Broccoli on his re-election and thank Doreen McKenzie and Martin Randall for their excellent service to the Association.”

ABTA Members also voted to pass the following five resolutions at the AGM: 

  • The first resolution confirmed that Messrs Moore Stephens have been reappointed as ABTA’s auditors
  • The second resolution introduces a requirement that membership of ABTA is restricted to companies that trade in ways that support the objects for which ABTA was established
  • The third introduces a requirement for Members to notify ABTA of any change to the registered name of the Member company and of any matter relating to the Member that might adversely affect the interests of ABTA and its Members
  • The fourth makes explicit reference to suspension of membership being an option available to the Board of Directors in circumstances where a Member’s conduct constitutes a threat of serious and imminent consumer detriment and/or detriment to ABTA, the reputation and good name of ABTA or Members but the Board considers that termination of membership would, in the particular circumstances, be an excessive penalty
  • The fifth clarifies the steps to be taken in the event of termination or suspension of membership.

The full Board of Directors comprises:

  • Noel Josephides, Sunvil
  • Daniele Broccoli, Britaly Travel
  • Amanda Campbell CBE            
  • Katrina Cliffe                      
  • Kathryn Darbandi, Thomas Cook Group
  • Richard Downs, Iglu.com
  • Andrew Flintham, TUI Group
  • Alistair Rowland, Mid-Counties Co-operative
  • Andrew Swaffield, Monarch Group
  • Tina Stowell
  • Stuart Leven, Royal Caribbean 
  • Jamie Gardiner, Diverse World Ltd
  • Mark Tanzer, ABTA.