Governance and Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is responsible for setting direction, providing an extra level of governance and giving our executive team support and advice.

Articles of Association

The Articles of Association set out in broad terms the rules of membership, including our joining criteria, Members’ rights and obligations, and our Accounts Rules (Article 10).

The Accounts Rules set out the financial criteria that Members must meet if they're conducting certain types of business. Their purpose is to help ensure that Members are on a firm financial footing. Our guide to the Accounts Rules – Guidance Notes on Accounts Rules and the Provision of Security – explains how these work in practice, and what our requirements are for the provision of security.

Council of Regions 2020-21

Our Council of Regions acts as a channel of communication between Members and our Board of Directors. It represents each of the ten ABTA regions and Scotland.

Name Company Region
Angus Russell RWH Travel Ltd Eastern
Jackie Steadman Traveltime World Ltd Greater London
Sue Foxall Kinver Travel Centre Ltd Midlands
Graeme Brett Westoe Travel North East
Heather Fielding Gallagher Travel Ltd Northern Ireland
Richard Slater Henbury Travel North West
Roddie MacPhee Barrhead Travel Service Ltd Scotland
Charmaine Hallmark Hallmark Travel  South
Helen Tustin Church Village Travel Worldchoice South Wales
John Stephens Compass Classics Ltd South West
Helen Parry Arundel Travel (Advantage Travel Centres Ltd) Yorkshire & North Midlands

Regional representatives

Elected regional representatives are in touch with the Members in their area and represent their views to their Council of Regions.

Committees and groups

We have two committees that manage matters relating to our membership rules. Our Membership Committee oversees the accounts rules, and our Code of Conduct Committee oversees our Code.

We have a number of other Groups that include working to deliver trade relations across the industry, addressing issues on behalf of Members, and supporting our work within public affairs.

Enforcement and appeal

The Articles of Association and Code of Conduct are subject to an enforcement and appeal procedure. This, in turn, underpins a comprehensive consumer complaints service, which includes access to ABTA's Alternative Dispute Resolution schemes (ADR). These services provide consumers with confidence, as well as helping to save Members considerable sums of money.

Alistair Rowland

Group CEO, Blue Bay Travel

ABTA Chairman

Alistair has been an active member of the ABTA Board for seven years representing the large agent sector and was appointed Chairman in June 2019. 

Mark Tanzer

Chief Executive, ABTA

Mark has been Chief Executive of ABTA since September 2005. He is responsible for the strategy and direction of the Association. Before joining ABTA Mark held senior strategy and corporate finance positions in a number of industry sectors, and was Group Strategy Director of Centrica plc., the parent company of British Gas and the Automobile Association.

Daniele Broccoli

Director, Typically Italian Holidays and Britaly Travel

Daniele is Director at Typically Italian Holidays and Britaly Travel, and has been on our Board of Directors since 2006. Daniele is a representative Member with retail turnover less than £20m.

Amanda Amroliwala CBE

Chief Executive Officer and Deputy Ombudsman for the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman

Amanda is Chief Executive Officer and Deputy Ombudsman for the Parliamentary and Health Service Ombudsman and joined our Board of Directors in June 2016.

Jamie Gardiner

Founder and Managing Director, Diverse World Ltd

Jamie is Founder and Managing Director at Diverse World Ltd and joined our Board of Directors in 2017. Jamie is a representative Member with a principal turnover less than £50 million.

Derek Jones

CEO, DER Touristik UK Ltd

Derek is CEO of DER Touristik UK Ltd and joined our Board of Directors in February 2018.

Stuart Leven

Vice President, EMEA and Managing Director, RCL Cruises Ltd

Stuart is Vice President, Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) and Managing Director of RCL Cruises Ltd and joined our Board of Directors in June 2017.

Rt Hon Baroness Stowell of Beeston MBE

Former Leader of the House of Lords

Baroness Tina Stowell is a former Leader of the House of Lords. Tina joined our Board of Directors in June 2017. 

John Bevan

Chief Executive Officer – dnata Travel Europe.

John is Chief Executive Officer at dnata Travel Europe and joined our Board of Directors in November 2018.

Richard Sofer

Commercial and Business Development Director, TUI Group

Richard is Commercial and Business Development Director at TUI Group and joined our Board of Directors in November 2018.

Adam Murray

Group CFO EMEA, Flight Centre (UK) Ltd

Adam is Group CFO EMEA at Flight Centre (UK) Ltd and joined our Board of Directors in July 2019.